February 14, 2010

V-day or D-day whichever you prefer...

Happy Valentine's Day! I really hate to complain about it like every other person who is single, but it's never been my favorite holiday. Not even when I had a boyfriend. He was always good with cards and gifts and surprises, so it wasn't that they were always bad, but my V-days weren't always great either. But, just another "American" holiday used to spend and make money off of. I'd hardly say I'm not a true American for not being a fan of today...I've seen more complaints and hate messages on facebook/twitter than any promoting this holiday for love. I don't care so much that I'm single, but for most people out there it's just another reason to feel sorry for themselves being "alone." That doesn't seem right either. And, if you are in a relationship, you should be doing the same things on this day than you would any other day of the week. That's a real relationship. A real, healthy one atleast. When I'm ready for another relationship I want everyday to feel like "valentine's day," like everyone should. Anyway, I hope everyone is celebrating this American holiday as you please and will end it with a sigh of satisfaction instead of one of loneliness. I've had a relaxing day filled with cupcakes, mexican, and a bubble bath. I will finally end it with my favorite Sunday tv night shows. Pretty normal Sunday for me. Maybe one day I will change my mind when someone blows me away with my most exciting Valentine's yet, but I highly doubt it. It'll still probably always be just another day for me...

Besides all that, Nashville was AMAZING. I had the best time ever! I cannot believe how much a 2 day trip alone can be. Well, I traveled alone, but met up with a friend once I was there. I did have the whole first day to myself though. I got a cab to Broadway of course, my favorite street in Music City USA. I walked in some hole in the wall shops I had never been in before, checked out the new Dolly Parton memorabilia store, then sat at my favorite bar TOOTSIES from 12pm til about 6pm. Nashvegas is definitely the only place I'd walk into a bar alone. Made plenty of friends by the time I left. I had all my luggage so the singer on stage kept picking on me since everyone knew I was from out of town. Tootsie's is famous for the big wig's getting their start and of course, HOLLER & A SWOLLER! I danced, drank, and listened to the bands all day, didn't want to leave, but my friend picked me up after she was off work. We went to her apt and called it an early night.
The next day was AWESOME. We arrived at the studio for the music shoot and took tons of pictures. Every office you could see into had tons and tons of guitars and cd covers hanging all over the place. What I'd do to land a job at that place, or anywhere in the music business for that matter. We had a caterer on location. All the extras were dressed in black and we got to dance and sing to the song about 100 times! I was loving it, we were there all day. Eric Church was amazing. He was very down to earth and talked to us the whole time between takes. It's gonna be an awesome video, I hope you can actually see me in it!! I don't think I will ever be able to top something like that. One of my best days ever for sure. I wanna do it again!!! After that my friend Cherie took me to Music Row, the Opry House, and Opry Mills. Virginia just doesn't have the shopping like Nashville. Definitely more my style there!! They have boots for days....I fell in love. I was heart broken to come back. I still miss it. My friend Lauren and I have already talked about relocating there when we graduate! Yeehaw right...

February 3, 2010

Gone to NashVegas.


So I got the opportunity to be an extra in a music video and I had to take it!! Actually, one of my favorite country singer's video, Eric Church!! The video is also one of my favorite songs of his. I'm so excited. I found out yesterday I was selected and bought my plane ticket today. Flying right out of the Richmond, Va airport to the BNA. My parents are kind of iffy about the situation, but what are they to do? I am 22 and I am capable. It's my first time traveling alone, but I don't mind it. I love visiting Nashville. I'm staying with a friend I've known for awhile through some fan clubs. We've always had a lot in common, I don't feel nervous about staying with her at all. There are about 75 extras, we are supposed to be acting as if were standing in line for a concert, we're at the concert, and at a meet & greet for the concert. Well I'm off. Gotta catch that plane bright and early.

February 1, 2010

Swift favored in Super bowl



Beyonce killed it at the Grammys, just saying!!
Check her out :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trrU5mt5eRs

PS: You think Taylor Swift is going to the win the Super Bowl this Sunday, I mean she wins everything else...

Nice to meet you

So, we had a crazy snow storm yesterday, crazy for Virginia anyway. A bunch of my friends and I were all snowed in and had a big sleepover. They all drank and I watched, we played a few card games and country power hour. I never actually played with the real CD, and yeah I guess I still played even though I didn't drink. Some of them passed out early and the rest of us played Turrets all night long. Kristin and I slept by the fire and still froze most of the night. We woke up, I had my coffee, then we all went to Jersey Mike's. Now I'm at home starring at this mess of a room I'm debating on tackling. It's all clothes. I just have way too many plain and simple.

I realized I never actually introduced myself. That's what it seems like everyone does on here.

I'm Whitney. I am from a somewhat small town (granted we have more than one stop light, it's not that small). I am an almost 23 year old student at VCU studying to be a teacher or so I planned. I eventually wanted my Master's in Special Education, but I have a few other tricks up my sleeve before pursuing that. I am going to receive my Undergrad degree for Early Education on May 22nd and couldn't be more excited! I have plans to travel and maybe teach some ESL classes overseas with Lauren (She's graduating too). We will see where that all takes me. I would also love to teach at the elementary level for the inbetween. What else? Well I still reside in the home where I have lived for 19 years with my parents and my younger sister. While we live in the suburbs, it is only about a 15 minute commute to the downtown campus of VCU. My sister started Fall 09 so we are there together now. I have a wonderful family and great friends. I have led a very pleasant life and always count my blessings. I know I am a lucky girl and so grateful for everything I have or have yet to experience. Music is a huge passion of mine (I have secretly always wished to be a country singer). I love to travel. Summer is my favorite season, for the simple fact of loving the beach as well as, the river (where I have grown up over the summers). I am a reality TV junkie and I am looking forward to whatever life may bring my way (I am a gypsy at heart). I have always been told I am mature for my age which is crazy because I like to let loose more than most people. I am just trying to make it in the real world while reaching any goals I come up with along the way. I am not the best writer, but it is a form of therapy for me and blogging may become a habit of mine. I am surely learning that God's plan may not always be my own plan and that being single isn't the end of the world as I once thought years ago (hence my eagerness to exit my last relationship). And I love to smile and laugh. Having fun is essential in daily life (in order to keep sane!)

Here is my Twitter if you'd like to follow more of my thoughts
http://twitter.com/ittybittywhitty
XOXO
Whit